Yes, there might officially be four seasons in the Australian year, matching up with those seasons of other similar regions of the world not approaching the equator (or the Poles, for that matter). Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring.

But those are only climatic seasons. For many, Davey Jones especially here, there are only two. Footy and Cricket Season.

And with the AFL Grand Final having been played just yesterday, today marks that moment through the year when the seasons officially change. Bring on the cricket!